2024 Holocaust Memorial Day Assembly – The Fragility of Freedom

Dr Mitchell and Ms Bell (Head of History) welcomed guests to the 2024 Holocaust Memorial Day assembly this morning.

History staff and senior prefects led the commemoration exploring the theme of “The Fragility of Freedom”.

Thank you to our guests for their time in joining our act of worship: Father Matthew Gibbon (Chair of Governors), Angela Clarke (Vice-Chair of Governors), Tina Williams (School Governor), Mr Alun Jones (School Governor), Mayor Councillor Wendy Lewis, Councillor Anne Crimmings, Beth Winter (MP Cynon Valley), Vikki Howells (AM Cynon Valley), Martyn Silezin (Lay Governor of the Church in Wales), Nicola Bennett (Head of Communications for the Diocese of Llandaff ), Suzanne Cooper (Chair, Friends of St John Baptist Church in Wales High School), Laura Ames (Friends of St John Baptist Church in Wales High School), PC Stacey Arndell (School Liaison Officer), PC Craig Gardner (Hate Crimes Officer) and PC Nick James (Hate Crimes Officer).