Cynon Valley Consortium

“The ‘Cynon Valley Consortium’ is a consortium of sixth form students consisting of students from three member schools i.e. Aberdare Community School, Mountain Ash Comprehensive School and St. John the Baptist Church in Wales school.

The consortium is made up of approximately 350 students in the sixth form, the majority of whom travel between the member schools for their tuition. This may be delivered at their home school, perhaps shared with another member school or solely at another member school.

The students are transported around the Cynon Valley up to twice a day for two hour sessions. They get a minimum of eight hours of tuition in a two week timetable per subject. This is achieved by all member schools having a common sixth form timetable. All the schools use a common registration and assessment management information system which keeps all the data and information on all its students secure, yet available for staff.